The new Unesco World Heritage listings

By | Category: Travel destinations

Assumption Cathedral in Russia

At the recent meeting in the Polish city of Krakow, UNESCO announced a new tranche of sites around the world that had been given World Heritage Status. In addition to the Lake District in Cumbria, they are:

Ahmedabad, India

Aphrodisias, Turkey

Asmara, Eritrea

Assumption Cathedral, Russia

Dauria, Mongolia / Russia

Hebron/Al-Khalil, Palestine

Khomani Cultural Landscape, South Africa

Kujataa, Denmark

Kulangsu, China

Los Alerces national park, Argentina

Mbanza Kongo, Angola

Okinoshima, Japan

Qinghai Hoh Xil, China

Sambor Prei Kuk,  the temple zone – Cambodia

Swabian Jura, Germany

Taputapuātea, France

Tarnowskie Góry Lead-Silver-Zinc Mine, Poland

Valongo Wharf, Brazil

Venetian Works of Defence, Croatia, Italy, Montenegro

Yazd, Iran






If you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.